Release date, start time and everything else we know, from matchmaking to team size •


The first Destiny 2 raid is arguably the activity players are most looking forward to from the sequel.

Even with all the bells and whistles of new planets and rejigged systems to come in the sequel, details of the Leviathan Raid have floated to the top as the most discussed new feature from the game’s community, and those who have previously sampled them will know why.

Destiny Raids are an end-game activity gated off by high level requirements, where a group of players take on a gauntlet of puzzles and bosses for exclusive items.

Though they can take half-a-dozen hours on a first playthrough, they are designed to be replayable, with randomised loot drops encouraging players to revisit week-after-week, inching them ever closer to the level cap with every session.

Bungie has confirmed the name as well as the Destiny 2 raid release date and start time, but there have been other smaller confirmed tweaks and changes that have emerged over the past few months, too.

Destiny 2 Leviathan raid release date and start time

In a update several days before Destiny 2’s launch, it was confirmed Raid 5 would launch on Wednesday, September 13 at the following times:

  • UK: 6pm (BST)
  • Europe: 7pm (CEST)
  • East Coast US: 1pm (EDT)
  • West Coast US: 10am (PDT)

Previous Raids rolled out within a week of a new expansion or main game releasing; Vault of Glass, the first Raid, debuted 7 days from the debut of the main game.

This gives people enough time to level up and master fresh characters before putting them to the test in a new Raid. As for what Power level you need to be, that is currently unknown, but will likely be confirmed before it goes live.

How to prepare for the Leviathan Raid

Though we don’t know exactly what’s in store for the new Raid, you can prepare yourself in the following ways:

  • Get as close to max Power level as possible to make things easier. The recommended level is between 260 and 280, but it’s best to go higher so you can deal and absorb more damage.
  • Get your team ready in advance, and if possible, with a diverse range of classes.
  • Join a clan and Raid with said clan to unlock bonus items by the end.
  • Unlock all three sub-classes to give you as many abilities as possible for both offence and defence.
  • Attempt to unlock a range of weapons and armour types to maximise your range of energy options.
  • Pick up and get as far as you can through the World-Eater quest, which will likely unlock new steps upon playing the Raid.
  • Finally, be sure to play the Invitation from the Emperor Adventure to learn some interesting backstory for the Raid and its possible cast.

Destiny 2 Leviathan raid matchmaking and team sizes

Though Destiny 2’s Crucible mode has had a shake up with team sizes, the numbers to take part in Raids will remain the same, sticking at six players to participate.

As before, there is no matchmaking, but all end-game activities will benefit from the new Guided Games system, which allows players to join up with Clans who are advertising for open spots in an upcoming session.

So whether you are an individual looking to play with a group, or a clan in need of filling the last one or two slots, you should be able to play the Raid with in-game tools, in theory making Looking for Group websites a thing of the past.

Destiny 2 guide, story walkthrough
Class changes, Exotics, levelling and more explained.

Want more on Destiny 2? Our Destiny 2 guide tells you everything else there is to know on the game so far, including Adventures, Lost Sectors, Strikes, Treasure Map locations, Heroic Public Events, and Flashpoints. Elsewhere we explain how to get a Sparrow in Destiny 2, how to join Clans and how Legendary Shards work, Crucible tips, a Destiny 2 Exotics list, details on the Nightfall schedule, how to unlock classes and subclasses, and everything we know about the upcoming Destiny 2 Raid.

Everything we know about Destiny 2’s Leviathan raid so far

Even without a confirmation of timing, name or theme, we know some thematic and mechanical details of Leviathan.

  • The name of the raid, ‘Leviathan’, has been confirmed by both Bungie and the game’s Trophy list.
  • But what is the Leviathan? It is said to be a ‘World-Eater’ ship or beasts that consumes planets, based on pre-release concept art and an early game cutscene. It’s also apparently visible in-game, as part of a skybox.
  • Luke Smith discussed the theme and focus of the Raid to GameRant: “Raid 5, when we looked at it, it was about building a place you believe is real. That was our priority,” he said. “A place that you believe could exist. It’s unlike anything we’ve done. The team is incredibly talented; it is a joy to see them work.”

Blink and you miss it, but the World-Eater can be seen in one of the games earliest cutscenes.

  • The new raid will have a mysterious new death penalty. Director Luke Smith said it would be the answer to players dying and watching their friends continue on during a hard mode run. “So we have a brand new death penalty and on the normal mode raids people have talked about wanting to remove it because it’s different and why not just use the strike difficulty,” he told Game Rant. “But we don’t want to change the difficulty because we believe our players are smart.”
  • Unlike other end-game activities, Raids won’t feature locked loadouts, with design director Luke Smith explaining they don’t want players quitting and re-entering raids just to swap a weapon out for another.
  • The leaked Trophy list suggest the raid can be played on something named ‘Prestige difficulty’ – which we imagine be tougher than Heroic. How, however, is unknown!
  • There are heavy suggestions one of the game’s Exotic weapon quests, World-Eater, will involve completing the Leviathan Raid.

Ultimately, we won’t quite know what to expect until it goes live, where its many puzzles, possible jumping sections, bosses and those all important loot drops will become clear. In the past Bungie wanted players to discover what’s inside each Raid first hand, and that’s exactly the case for Destiny 2 as well.

Article Source

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *