Record-setting quarterback Andrew Walter and two-time track Olympian Amy Hastings Cragg are among eight 2017 inductees into the Arizona State Athletic Hall of Fame.

The new class, from seven different sports, will be formally inducted during a luncheon Oct. 13 and introduced at a home football game against Washington on Oct. 14.

Others inductees are Aaron Aguayo (track), Alejandro Canizares (men’s golf), Ron Davini (baseball), Adria Engel (women’s tennis), Jim Newman (men’s basketball) and Emily Westerberg Love (women’s basketball).

Athletes are eligible for induction into the Hall of Fame, created in 1975, 10 years after their senior class has graduated.

Walter is ASU’s school career passing leader, throwing for 10,617 yards from 2001-04. He also leads in touchdown passes (85), attempts (1,426) and 300-yard passing games (13) and his 536 yards against Oregon in 2002 is a single-game record. He played five years in the NFL, all with Oakland.

In a 2013 list of ASU’s top 50 all-time players, azcentral sports rated Walter at No. 15.

Cragg was a 10-time All-America in track and cross country, 2004 Pac-10 cross country women’s Athlete of the Year and 2007 Pac-12 medal of honor winner. She won the 2006 NCAA Indoor 5,000-meter title and has gone on to become an accomplished pro runner. 

Cragg was 11th in the 10,000 at the 2012 Olympics and ninth in the marathon at the 2016 Olympics. She was 2016 U.S. Olympic Trials marathon champion and won the 10,000 at the 2012 Olympic Trials. 

Other Hall of Fame inductee highlights:

  • Davini was Most Valuable Player at the 1967 College World Series when ASU won its second national title. He his…